Making a Writing Schedule

Since I graduated from college a year ago, I haven’t really been able to settle into a routine. Too many things are always up in the air, half-baked plans for new adventures sprout mid-afternoon, spoiling my plans for a writing night in, and for awhile I was commuting three hours a day which consumed any writing time I could possibly squeeze in. When I moved into my new condo, thereby cutting my commute in half and finally being able to organize my very own writing space, I thought I’d be able to get in a routine similar to college, where entire blocks of time were strictly dedicated to each activity–how else would everything get done??–but instead of classes and library time, I’d have hours available to write every day. But still, I’m just writing “when I have time,” squeezing it in randomly.

I thought this whole write-when-I-can plan was working well until I really sat down and budgeted out my time–being as realistic and honest as possible–on a spreadsheet. I was faced with the hard facts that I was really only writing maybe two or three hours a week. Inspired by Lindsey’s recent blog post about finding time to write and her suggestion that you draw up an official writing schedule, I’m going to start doing that. It’ll force me to wake up earlier a few days a week to get an hour of writing in. It’ll force me to adhere to the schedule as soon as I walk in the door after work, rather than plopping down on the couch and letting time slip away, telling myself I’ll get around to it in a few minutes.

With my new schedule, I’ll be writing 14 hours a week. Let’s see if I can stick to it!

(Image)

Published by hannahkarena

author & book publishing person.

19 thoughts on “Making a Writing Schedule

    1. Yeah, probably about 2-3 hours of my writing time will get eaten up by blogging. But I’ve started blogging only if I have something I really want to share–rather than because a schedule says I have to a certain amount of times a week–so that even if an hour got “eaten up” by blogging, I’m really proud of the writing, no matter the form it’s in.

      Like

    1. Aw, thanks for the award! I’m flattered.

      And I totally know the feeling. The stories of other people’s success exhaust me and make me feel so incompetent. I feel like such a bum when I sleep in until 8 just because I want to!

      Like

    1. Sorry you spent time digging, because the link is at the bottom of the post, crediting the image! (Just for future reference, if I post another awesome book-lover must-have item!) You’re research got you to the right place, though :]

      Like

Leave a comment